Print Page | Close Window

Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2021: Winners announced

Printed From:
Category: Jazz Music Lounges
Forum Name: Jazz Music News, Press Releases
Forum Description: Submit press releases, news , new releases, jazz music news and other interesting things happening in the world of jazz music (featured in home and artist page)
Printed Date: 26 Oct 2021 at 5:43am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 10.16 -

Topic: Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2021: Winners announced
Posted By: snobb
Subject: Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2021: Winners announced
Date Posted: 27 Jul 2021 at 11:28am
Nubya Garcia, Georgia Mancio and KOKOROKO all scooped up accolades

The winners of the Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2021 have been revealed, with saxophonist Nubya Garcia, vocalist Georgia Mancio and lauded ensemble KOKOROKO all receiving awards.

Georgia Mancio, who was awarded 'Jazz Vocalist of the Year', received her first award, having been nominated 4-times previously.

Saxophonist Nubya Garcia won the accolade of 'Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year'," rel="nofollow - having also recently been nominated for the Mercury Prize 2021 for her debut album" rel="nofollow - SOURCE .

Held annually, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards celebrate the vibrancy, diversity and talent of the UK jazz scene.

Co-Chair of All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group, John Spellar MP, said: "These awards are a great opportunity to celebrate the talents and energies of the great musicians, educators, promoters, record labels, jazz organisations, blogs, jazz magazines and journalists who kept jazz flourishing, in spite of the challenges they faced in 2020. In a year of hardship, unparalleled in the last 76 years, these shortlists demonstrate the wealth of talent and commitment that exists in the British jazz scene. Now in their 16th year, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards honour the best of British jazz.

Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2021 - Winners:

You can see the full list of winners of the Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2021 below...

Jazz Vocalist of the Year

Georgia Mancio

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year

Nubya Garcia

Jazz Album of the Year

Callum Au and Claire Martin - Songs and Stories (Stunt Records)

Jazz Ensemble of the Year


Jazz Newcomer of the Year

Jas Kayser

Jazz Venue of the Year

Peggy's Skylight

Jazz Media Award

Women in Jazz Media

Jazz Education Award

The Original UK Summer School

Services to Jazz Award

Norma Winstone

Lockdown Innovation Award

The Globe - Newcastle upon Tyne

Special APPJAG Awards

Digby Fairweather / Lord Colwyn

What are the Parliamentary Jazz Awards?

The Parliamentary Jazz Awards are organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG). The awards celebrate and recognise the vibrancy, diversity, talent and breadth of the jazz scene throughout the United Kingdom.


Print Page | Close Window

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.16 -
Copyright ©2001-2013 Web Wiz Ltd. -