JazzMusicArchives.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >Jazz Music Lounges >Jazz Music Recommendations/Featured albums
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Can someone help me find some jazz like this?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rhys Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Can someone help me find some jazz like this?
    Posted: 23 Jul 2011 at 4:36am
Hello there, I'm completely new to jazz, there seems to be lots of different types and it''s hard to find the sort I love the sound of, or a place to start. I know there is a jazz type sound out there I love because I've heard it occasionallyCool. I can never come across the actual song again but (maybe unexpectedly) while playing Gran Turismo 5 I have come across some likewise awesome and relaxing sounds.

Can anyone help me find some artists/album similar to?: "Reminiscence" by  Norihito Sumito 
(recorded in mono, so not great quality)

The other songs by Norihito Sumitomo are fantastic too "Tracks of Dream" as another example:

Maybe its even moving on a bossa nova style?

The combinations of the guitar, piano, and underlying bass in these sort of melodies I find fantastic as well as relaxing.
btw if you wanted me to define further I love the lack of vocal and a modern (or high quality) recording.

I can't seem to find anything from him in this style other than whats in the gt5 soundtrack (being not Japanese make it hard to find his stuff too, language wiseUnhappy ) and I believe he is possibly mainly a soundtrack/theme artist.

Any thoughts would be greatly greatly appreciated, thanks! 
js View Drop Down
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Site admin

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote js Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2011 at 5:35am
A lot of George Shearing sounds like this with the guitar/piano combination and that relaxed sound.