JazzMusicArchives.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >Jazz Music Lounges >Jazz Music News, Press Releases
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Winners Announced for Parliamentary Jazz Awards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Winners Announced for Parliamentary Jazz Awards

 Post Reply Post Reply
snobb View Drop Down
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Site Admin

Joined: 22 Dec 2010
Location: Vilnius
Status: Online
Points: 24574
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote snobb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Winners Announced for Parliamentary Jazz Awards
    Posted: 01 Jul 2020 at 11:20am

Awards for Cherise Adams-Burnett, Luca Manning, Kate Williams, Georgia Mancio and Jazzwise.. 

The names of the winners have been revealed for the 2020 Parliamentary Jazz Awards, which were announced via the PizzaExpress Live website on Tuesday 30 June.

The winners include several newcomers with vocalists Cherise Adams-Burnett collecting the award for Jazz Vocalist of the Year and Luca Manning received the Jazz Newcomer of the Year, while keyboardist Sarah Tandy won the Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year award. Pianist Kate Williams and vocalist Georgia Mancio won the Jazz Album of the Year category for their widely praised collaboration Finding Home, and the Jazz Ensemble of the Year was awarded to leading UK bandleader and composer Nikki Iles. Further winners include Pizza Express Jazz Club’s 10 Dean Street, Soho venue, and the Jazz Media Award went to esteemed vibes player turned broadcaster Corey Mwamba for his BBC Radio 3 show, Freeness.

Jon Eno BEM received the Jazz Education Award for his involvement with Hot House Music and numerous other music education programmes, and the decades-long work of Blow The Fuse – run by guitarist Deirdre Cartwright and bassist Allison Rayner among others – was awarded the Services to Jazz prize. The APPJAG Special Award was presented to Jazzwise Magazine, which celebrated its 20th anniversary in 2017 with a weeklong festival at Ronnie Scott’s, the magazine is now in its 23rd year and is the only surviving UK jazz magazine in print today and is Edited by Mike Flynn, with Jon Newey as Editor in Chief.

The Parliamentary Awards celebrate and recognise the vibrancy, diversity, talent and breadth of the jazz scene throughout the United Kingdom. The awards have been running since 2005. The All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) currently has over 116 members from the House of Commons and House of Lords across all political parties.

For full details visit www.pizzaexpresslive.com/parliamentary-jazz-awards

from www.jazzwise.com

Edited by snobb - 01 Jul 2020 at 11:20am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.16
Copyright ©2001-2013 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.107 seconds.