JazzMusicArchives.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >Site News, Newbies, Help and Improvements >Welcome newbies!
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Hi from Wide Open Ears

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wideopenears Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hi from Wide Open Ears
    Posted: 07 Dec 2011 at 1:54pm
Some of you may know me from Prog Ears......but the bulk of my listening is jazz or jazz-related.  I've been lurking for a bit, but thought I'd introduce myself.  Cone is my real first name, it's true!

I'm an electric bassist, amongst other things.  I love good music, no matter what the genre, though I listen mainly to music that has a strong improv component, and I favor instrumental music.  Love world music, too.  

My all-time favorite band is Weather Report, all periods.  My favorite musician of all time is John Coltrane, without a doubt.  I love Miles, Holdsworth, McLaughlin, Jaco.....Monk, Parker, Mingus......tons and tons of artists, in fact.  I don't listen to much Country or folk, or straight blues (though once in a while I spin something....) and not much in the way of Indie or the current Flavor of the Pop Month.  But I don't actively avoid much of it.

I've been listening to, and playing, jazz and jazz-related music since age 13, back in......1979.  I even had a 9 month period of Jazz Snobbism, complete with Upright-Only Attitude, in my early 20's.

There ya go.  Howdy!
snobb View Drop Down
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Site Admin

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote snobb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2011 at 2:12pm
Welcome! 
Matt View Drop Down
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Jazz Reviewer

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Matt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2011 at 2:42pm

Great to see you here Cool

Matt