Print Page | Close Window

Van Morrison announces 40th studio album

Printed From:
Category: Other music related lounges
Forum Name: Jazz related lounge
Forum Description: Discuss bands and albums classified as Jazz related
Printed Date: 30 Nov 2023 at 2:12pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 10.16 -

Topic: Van Morrison announces 40th studio album
Posted By: snobb
Subject: Van Morrison announces 40th studio album
Date Posted: 27 Oct 2018 at 4:01pm

Sir Van Morrison has confirmed that his 40th studio album will be released in December - it’s his second this year and again he’s working with the acclaimed jazz organist and trumpeter Joey De Francesco. The new project is called ‘The Prophet Speaks’ and will feature six original compositions from the pair alongside covers written by Sam Cooke, John Lee Hooker, Solomon Burke and more. At the age of 73, he told Jazz FM: “It was important for me to get back to recording new music as well as doing some of the blues material that has inspired me from the beginning. Writing songs and making music is what I do, and working with great musicians makes it all the more enjoyable.”

The track listing is as follows, with the lead single ‘Got to go where love is’ out now…

1.    Gonna Send You Back To Where I Got You From (Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson, Leona Blackman)
2.    Dimples (John Lee Hooker, James Bracken)
3.    Got to Go Where The Love Is (Van Morrison)
4.    Laughin’ and Clownin’ (Sam Cooke)
5.    5 am Greenwich Mean Time (Van Morrison)
6.    Gotta Get You Off My Mind (Solomon Burke, Delores Burke, Josephine Burke Moore)
7.    Teardrops (J.D. Harris)
8.    I Love The Life I Live (Willie Dixon)
9.    Worried Blues / Rollin’ and Tumblin’ (J.D. Harris)
10.    Ain’t Gonna Moan No More (Van Morrison)
11.    Love Is A Five Letter Word (Gene Barge)
12.    Love Is Hard Work (Van Morrison)
13.    Spirit Will Provide (Van Morrison)
14.    The Prophet Speaks (Van Morrison)


Print Page | Close Window

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.16 -
Copyright ©2001-2013 Web Wiz Ltd. -