Forum Home Forum Home >Other music related lounges >Get The Word Out
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Blogging my novel, "Greatest Hits"

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
JMA Special Collaborator
JMA Special Collaborator
Jazz Reviewer

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chicapah Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Blogging my novel, "Greatest Hits"
    Posted: 05 Apr 2013 at 2:30pm
I'm new to this "blogging" stuff but figured it was a way to get a book I've been sitting on for decades out into the public realm.  Here's the synopsis:

The story centers on the lives of Gabriel Brewer and Joshua Kelly, two creative souls who meet up in the early 1970s and form a musical partnership called “Josh & Gabe.”  Josh is a seasoned singer/songwriter who’s been trying to find his place in the music business for years while Gabe is a poetic drifter who’s never performed professionally.  But the unique combination of their talents results in them eventually climbing to the apex of the industry.  Their personalities and their backgrounds couldn’t be more different.  At first Josh is a frustrated loner driven to succeed while Gabe is a free spirit looking to find peace in his life but after they achieve fame and fortune they unexpectedly switch places and adopt the other’s point of view.

“Greatest Hits” offers an inside look at how difficult it was to survive and prevail in the music business during the seventies decade when a handful of record company executives controlled the entire industry.  The tale primarily focuses on how musicians who harbored dreams of expressing themselves through their aural art had to constantly deal with the pressures their careers put on their love relationships and the complications that inevitably arose in their associations with moguls, managers and other musicians.