Forum Home Forum Home >Jazz Music Lounges >Live Performance Reviews
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Oregon, November 19 2016, Vilnius

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Site Admin

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote snobb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Oregon, November 19 2016, Vilnius
    Posted: 20 Nov 2016 at 2:51am
I have never been a big fan of Oregon music. Probably I just was born too late - my first jazz vinyl was one of post-RTF Chick Corea's. The first live jazz gig I saw was ex-Ganelin trio reeds player Vladimir Chekasin's solo concert - he played free improvs using two saxophones simultaneously and improvised against sound generator and drum machine! I was a University undergraduate then and still remember that event in small details after three and half decade. Americans Oregon I found out much later (as "archival" jazz from early ECM reissues) and they stayed for me nice simple early world fusion, comfortable and sterile music ECM label was known by.

Yesterday scene veterans Oregon played (for a first time ever!) in my hometown and I just decided to give them a chance (as if they really needed). The hall of city's Drama Theater where the band had a gig was overcrowded. Lot of well-known faces - from seasoned social-democrat party one of the leaders (who unsuccessfully tried to become a party Leader few weeks ago) to red-hair biggest country's news portal fashion and style column editor. My seat's neighbors were mid-aged pair of Russian tourists ( female wore massive fake golden bracelet with watch and lot of shiny crystals).