JazzMusicArchives.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >Jazz Music Lounges >Jazz Music News, Press Releases
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Matana Roberts: Coin Coin Chapter 5  In The Garden
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Matana Roberts: Coin Coin Chapter 5 In The Garden

 Post Reply Post Reply
snobb View Drop Down
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Site Admin

Joined: 22 Dec 2010
Location: Vilnius
Status: Offline
Points: 27811
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote snobb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Matana Roberts: Coin Coin Chapter 5 In The Garden
    Posted: 29 Sep 2023 at 2:46am
Matana Roberts  Coin Coin Chapter Five: In The Garden

(Constellation CST170Album review by Jon Turney) 

So we reach the fifth instalment, of a projected 12, of saxophonist and sound artist Matana Roberts’ Coin Coin project. One day, still some way off, we’ll look back on the entire opus as both magisterial and monumental. For now, though, it seems best to take each one on its (considerable) merits, especially as Chapter Five appears after a four year interval.

As usual, it is a distinctive instrumental and vocal sound collage building a picture of an aspect of the lives of people of colour in the US. This time the focus is on a woman in Roberts’ family who died 100 years ago after trying to terminate an unwanted pregnancy, the contemporary relevance painfully obvious.

And yes, there is pain in the cinematic soundscape Roberts builds up meticulously over 16 connected episodes, but also a tapestry of feeling that anatomises and celebrates a turbulent life before its untimely end.

The accumulation of this remarkable series does begin to invite comparisons, and the realisation of this latest marvel of musical story-telling is recognisably akin to its immediate predecessor rather than, say, the assembly of solo saxophone, voice, and field recordings achieved by Roberts alone in Chapter Three. As for Chapter four, a new band came together to work with Roberts – percussionist Ryan Sawyer is the only player to return. The others play a variety of clarinets, sax, violin, piano, percussion and (almost all of them), tin whistles, which braid together plaintively over a martial rhythm at the beginning and end of the sequence. There are purely instrumental episodes where they sound like a seasoned ensemble playing orchestrally conceived collective improvisation.

Vocally, there are sung passages, snippets of speech that drift in and out of earshot, and repeated incantations that gather emotional force as the story moves to its grave conclusion. It feels as if there is more of Roberts’ own vocal exposition this time, the storytelling still fragmented but perhaps a little more straightforward than hitherto, and no less compelling for that. The voices are offset by layered horns, sometimes playing free, sometimes confined to simple figures, occasionally peeling off a jazz solo. Except, that is, when the composer’s intent calls for the free jazz ensemble to become an acapella choir, or a clapping chorus, which they pull off with equal aplomb.

Everyone contributes fully, but it is clear the whole effort is in the service of Roberts’ singular vision. Her roles as player, singer, speaker and organiser here seem to require some combination of bard, shaman, pied piper and mad scientist. However she does it, it works. Coin Coin grows more impressive with each new episode: it’s a privilege to be able to hear this artistic epic of remembering and forgetting unfold.

Jon Turney writes about jazz, and other things, from Bristol. Twitter @jonwturney

LINK: Coin Coin on Bandcamp
and at Constellation Records / Release date (today) 29 September 2023

from https://londonjazznews.com 

Edited by snobb - 29 Sep 2023 at 2:46am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.16
Copyright ©2001-2013 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.140 seconds.