JazzMusicArchives.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >Site News, Newbies, Help and Improvements >Report errors & omissions here
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Sonny Stitt – The Matadores Meet The Bull

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mssr_Renard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Sonny Stitt – The Matadores Meet The Bull
    Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 1:26pm
This one should be Afro Cuban Jazz. I am playing it right now (I bought the lp), and it features Tito Puente and Ray Baretto.

Here is some more proof:

Edited by Mssr_Renard - 16 Mar 2023 at 1:27pm
js View Drop Down
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Site admin

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote js Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 2:22pm
Thanks I'll check it out. I studied and performed Afro-Cuban jazz with esteemed pianist Rebecca Mauleon, so I know the genre fairly well.
js View Drop Down
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Site admin

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote js Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 2:57pm
One track is Latin Jazz and there is a Latin percussion breakdown on one song and there is one ballad, but the rest is hard bop with Latin percussion as an add on. Adding Latin percussion to hard bop and soul jazz records was common back then.
Ray Barretto was a very versatile musician, he shows up on lots of RnB and funk albums too.

Edited by js - 16 Mar 2023 at 3:20pm
Mssr_Renard View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mssr_Renard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 2:18am
Okay we'll keep it hardbop then. I will edit the discogs-entry
js View Drop Down
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Site admin