JazzMusicArchives.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >Site News, Newbies, Help and Improvements >Welcome newbies!
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

New member: Mssr Renard

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mssr_Renard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New member: Mssr Renard
    Posted: 26 Jan 2023 at 2:14am
Hello,

I am kind of new at Jazz Music Archives but have been a member of Progarchives for ages, so I know how this website and forum works.

I like all kinds of music, ranging from pop to metal, from classical to jazz, from country to r&b/soul, from EDM to krautrock.

Mostly I prefer instrumental music in all kinds of forms and when I listen to pop and rock I prefer the seventies and eighties. When I listen to metal I prefer the eighties and nineties.

The first bands and music I started listening to where progressive rock (from Queen to Barclay James Harvest, Jethro Tull, Gentle Giant, Camel), than I shifted towards southern rock and heavy metal. Than I started to listen to more contemporary music (acid jazz, nujazz, jazzfunk, drum&bass, EDM).

After that I had a long period of hardcorepunk and metal, and than I started to listen extensively to stoner rock, jambandrock and spacerock.

After all these years I still had not picked up the old blues and jazz, wich I started to listen to some 4 or 5 years ago.

To me, jazz and blues are the missing pieces in my musical universe. I really like hardbop, postbop and fusion/jazzrock.

For me music has to have soul and a groove. I am not really fond of most avant-garde jazz and neo-classical music, as it is to serious for me.

My musical mood is dependent on how I wake up. One day I am totally into Uriah Heep or Jethro Tull, the other day I want to listen to heavy metal or Wayne Shorter. And other days I am totally into Psytrance or Psybient like Carbon Based Lifeforms.