JazzMusicArchives.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >Site News, Newbies, Help and Improvements >Welcome newbies!
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Hello from NYC

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
JMA Special Collaborator
JMA Special Collaborator

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote boredop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hello from NYC
    Posted: 25 May 2019 at 10:07pm
Hello to all from one of the capital cities of jazz, New York. I just learned of the site a few days ago and joined tonight. I'm a radio engineer at a well known station in New York, which allows me to get a lot of free CDs of new jazz releases. I'm also a working jazz/funk/blues musician, and sometimes a jazz DJ at some smaller community radio stations.

I have been an active contributor at Discogs for several years with 1100 contributions to that site, and I also have posted a lot of jazz on reddit under this same user name. I'm not sure how active I'll be here, but I like the idea of a discography site that is focused only on jazz. I also like that the submission rules aren't quite as strict as Discogs, which will hopefully mean this can be a more pleasant place to hang out!

Preferred styles: hard bop, funk, fusion, big bands, swing, post bop, New Orleans brass bands. A little bit of everything, really!
js View Drop Down
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Site admin

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote js Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2019 at 10:14pm
Welcome, let us know if you need help with anything.
boredop View Drop Down
JMA Special Collaborator
JMA Special Collaborator

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote boredop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2019 at 10:40pm
Thank you!