JazzMusicArchives.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >Jazz Music Lounges >Jazz Music Lounge
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Jazzmen Unite

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Forum Groupie
Forum Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BlueNote Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Jazzmen Unite
    Posted: 22 Sep 2012 at 3:45pm
Good evening.
Anyone here playing jazz (either publicly or just at home for him/herself)?

I'm a guitarist myself and I've been trying to play jazz for a while now. Most guitary are probably Django Reinhardt things and of course the great Grant Green's stuff.  But I have to say, I don't see the guitar as a worthy competition to sax and piano.

Anyway: If you have any tips on improvisation, online lessons, sheet music, tabs etc. or just experiences with playing jazz, I'd be happy to hear it.
js View Drop Down
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Site admin

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote js Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 4:16am
I'm a pro musician, but I don't get a lot of jazz gigs. I'm in Memphis now, but i used to work in San Francisco. In the mid-90s, the acid jazz fad in SF meant there were lots of easy gigs for jazz musicians. 
There are very few clubs for jazz in Memphis. I also like playing standards at home for the practice and just for the fun of it.
If you are looking for lead sheets, someone just dropped off a link to a great site the other day.
js View Drop Down
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Site admin

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote js Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 4:18am
Here is the thread with all the sheet music.
BlueNote View Drop Down
Forum Groupie
Forum Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BlueNote Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 6:42am