JazzMusicArchives.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >Jazz Music Lounges >Jazz Music News, Press Releases
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2018 Nominees Announced
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2018 Nominees Announced

 Post Reply Post Reply
snobb View Drop Down
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Site Admin

Joined: 22 Dec 2010
Location: Vilnius
Status: Offline
Points: 21674
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote snobb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2018 Nominees Announced
    Posted: 13 Sep 2018 at 6:04am

The nominations have been announced for this year's Parliamentary Jazz Awards, which take place on 16 October, and for the second time are held at Pizza Express Live's Holborn jazz club. With the nominees selected via an online public vote for the awards, the shortlist was then voted upon by a selection panel of jazz musicians and music professionals from a variety of backgrounds selected for their passion for, and knowledge of, jazz. The winners, chosen by judging members of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), will be announced at the awards ceremony which will include live performances and guest presenters.

Kelvin Hopkins MP, Co-Chair of APPJAG, said: "These shortlists demonstrate the wealth of talent and commitment that exists in the British jazz scene. Now in its 14th year, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards honours the best of British jazz. MPs and Peers in the All Party Group are delighted to host another ceremony at Pizza Express Live and we are extremely grateful to PizzaExpress Live for supporting the event and for Peroni for sponsoring the event."

The nominees are:

Jazz Vocalist of the Year: Liane Carroll; Georgia Mancio; Zara McFarlane and Ian Shaw

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year: Rob Luft; Arun Gosh and Ross Stanley

Jazz Album of the Year: Arun Gosh But Where Are You Really From?; Denys Baptiste The Late Trane; Gareth Lockrane Big Band Fistfight At The Barn Dance

Jazz Ensemble of the Year: Ezra Collective; Dinosaur; ARQ Alison Rayner Quartet and Beats & Pieces Big Band

Jazz Newcomer of the Year: Fergus McCreadie; Sarah Tandy; Shirley Tetteh

Jazz Venue of the Year: Jazz Re:Freshed; Jazz At The Lescar and South Coast Jazz Festival

Jazz Media Award: Richard Williams; Kevin Le Gendre and Lance Liddle for Bebop Spoken Here website

Jazz Education Award: Pete Churchill; Jean Toussaint and Nikki Illes

Services to Jazz Award: Blow The Fuse Alison Rayner and Deirdre Cartwright; Jill Rodger Glasgow Jazz Festival; Gary
Crosby and Gill Wilde.

For more info visit www.pizzaexpresslive.com/parliamentary-jazz-awards

from  www.jazzwisemagazine.com
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.16
Copyright ©2001-2013 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.